Tuesday, December 24, 2013

You know what really makes me sick? Starbucks and other places being open on Christmas. It's like Jesus, could you go one day making your own fucking coffee and give the poor bastards at Starbucks a rest. I mean, I have to work Christmas (In fact, I'm at work right now) and I'm feeling sorry for myself pretty hard, but I'm sort of here to deal with fuckups that the company I work for has experienced yesterday. I'm not here to give people coffee while they're on their way to visit relatives and I'm stuck at a dead-end job hating everything.

Police officers and Firefighters understandably have to work Christmas. Hospitals need to stay open Christmas. These people save lives and we depend on them for functioning in a semblance of a well balanced society. And for the most part, police and firefighters and people who work at hospitals are paid a decent wage for the work they do. My cousin in law was telling me the other day that when she worked as a plumber she always worked on Christmas and Thanksgiving if she could because they were paid an extra $100 for calls they had to do on those days, and both those days are sort of busy because everyone has a family feast cloging up their toilets. I recognize the importance of these positions. We would be severely inconvinienced if we didn't have plumbers or gas station employees available for Christmas. I just wish everyone who had to work Christmas A. worked a similarly important position and B. got paid extra. I mean, I think if someone really wants their stupid coffee that bad they should have to pay through the nose for it, and that money should go to the bottom rung employees who had to come in on Christmas.

And of course, not everyone celebrates Christmas, which makes this a little complicated. If Christmas is any other day for you, and you want coffee, why should you pay extra just because other people think the day is special? Well, it's for the same fucking reason that it's hard to get good bagels on Yom Kippur you selfish prick. You don't have to celebrate Christmas if you don't want to but at least acnowledge that others deserve to have their holiday observances respected. I mean, if you don't observe Christmas and you don't have a problem working on December 25th that's cool, but how likely is it that nobody who got called in for a shift at Starbucks today doesn't observe? I'm thinking that it's pretty fucking unlikely. In cased you hadn't noticed, Christianity is a big thing in the United States, and a lot of non-Christian people celebrate a more secular Christmas and still deserve to be with their families or whatever.

No comments:

Post a Comment